Stoiximan Super League


Stoiximan Super League

  • 1959
  • Major Sponsor from 2023 - Today


The Super League Greece 1, is the highest professional association football league in Greece. The league was formed on 16 July 2006 and replaced Alpha Ethniki at the top of the Greek football league system. It consists of 14 teams and runs from August to May, with teams playing 26 games. Since the foundation of the first official Panhellenic Championship, only six clubs have won the title (Olympiacos, Panathinaikos, AEK, P.A.O.K., Aris and A.E.L.). Olympiacos with 47 titles has won the most in the history of the competition.

The history of the first unified football league began in the 1959-60 season with the creation of the A’ National Division, the form of which has generally been maintained to this day.

On 19 January 1979 a bill was passed in the Hellenic Parliament under which football clubs became Football Incorporated Companies (PAE). The Association of Football Incorporated Companies (EPAE), under the supervision of the HFF, has since held the responsibility to hold the championship

Super League

During the 2006-07 season, the Hellenic Football Federation agreed to the withdrawal of the 16 member clubs of the A’ National League from the EPAE, so that they could establish a cooperative association of football clubs under the name ‘Super League Greece’, which succeeded EPAE in the organisation of the Greek first division championship. With the new football restructuring of 2019, from the 2019-20 season, the professional football association Super League was renamed to “Super League 1”.

The Super League’s sponsorship partnership with Stoiximan, covering both the current season and the 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 seasons, includes four main pillars: the naming of the Stoiximan Super League, the expanded promotion of Stoiximan within the stadiums, the joint undertaking of social initiatives as well as the implementation of actions to improve the fan experience, both on and off the pitch.